Bio

Here's a short insight into myself, those around me, and the things I find of interest and love doing.

KQ Sept 2016

This is me!

  • Married to Diana
  • We have two great kids - one into sport, one into photography, both growing up (too quick) and at high school

Interests (in no particular order):

  • writing.
  • music (which can range from just about anything and everything on any given day. Still learning to play the guitar)
  • reading (particularly non-fiction and autobiographies)
  • sport (see further below)
  • researching family history
  • local and regional social history
  • the great outdoors (I will be out and about as often as I can)
  • travel (still love to travel whenever and wherever I can. I was fortunate enough to have lived and worked in Australia and New Zealand in my early 20s)
  • spending time with the family; either getting out and about or simply 'kicking back' at home
  • catching up with friends and family
  • food & drink

 Very keen sportsman

  • unofficially 'semi-retired' footballer; having played both here in the UK and Australia, but still play 5-a-side a couple of times each month
  • FA qualified coach (Level 2). I also have qualifications in management and treatment of injuries and First Aid.
  • ECB Level II qualified coach
  • keen and active cricketer; I currently play for Willoughby Cricket Club, a village cricket club on the Warwickshire/Northants border near Rugby, and have done so since 1991. I am also the club's junior cricket coordinator (14 years), continue to coach the club's junior cricketers and manage one of the junior teams. Press Officer (15+ years) and on the club's Management Committee.
  • A keen swimmer, at least 3 times a week.
  • very keen follower of Nottingham Forest FC and Berwick Rangers FC
  • An interest in just about every sport: football to cricket, rugby union and league, horse racing - and the social side of horseracing, American Football (recent convert!) even Australian Rules and GAA